Goal Setting

January 9, 2010 at 8:22 pm (Uncategorized)

In a perfect world, every mission has well−defined objectives, clear−cut guidelines to operate and exact metrics to measure success. In reality, people charge forward without having all their ducks in a row. It’s human nature. If it happens on the battlefield, it results in casualties and long−drawn−out campaigns. In the business world, it results in far−reaching concepts that never should have gotten off the ground, poor product launches, inaccurate budgeting, and business ventures that should never have been financed. The greatest enthusiasm in the world won’t make up for a business plan that doesn’t work.

So, what’s the point of having a goal, and not setting out steps on how to achieve your goals. The subject of Goal Setting seems to have been over emphasized a lot of times, by different people, in different places, and in different situation. The ultimate truth is that no matter how much we talk about this subject we can never over talk about it.

Do you think that you spend too much time on planning? Actually you need to spend some more. Do you feel that you worry too much about details? Yes it’s important that you know what you are doing and why you are doing what you doing.

If you set out on a course that you want to achieve you have to be convinced and make out plans on how you want to go about achieving it, because when the going gets tough, the tough gets going.

Success in your career, business, relationship, spiritual life does not require everything to go right at all times, so what does it require? It simply requires you to plan ahead for the times when things go wrong and how you intend to return to winning ways. The test of a true champion is that a true Champion can bounce back from failure no matter how bad it seems.

I cannot say this year that you will not face challenges; I cannot also say that your plans would be executed 100%, but I can guarantee you that if you set out to achieve goals that are feasible, achievable, realistic, and measurable and with a time limit, you definitely will achieve your ultimate goal(s).

So, what’s the gist…?

  • Choose a path and take your chances

Set out with a specific goal that you want to achieve this year, write it out, no wonder even the Holy Scripture says that “write the vision and make it plain that He might run that readeth it”

In as much as you know your plans for the year in your head endeavor to put it down in writing,

Nothing becomes dynamic until it is SPECIFIC.

Don’t chase the wind this New Year, my previous experience in year 2009, as taught me that you can actually set out to achieve goals that are not Realistic. I entered 2009 with a lot of optimism; on January 1st I decided that my goal for the year would be to have a net income of #1,000,000 (1 million Naira) at the end of the year. Did I achieve this goal? The answer is obvious to all and sundry, I didn’t make one tenth of the proposed amount.

I could not achieve this goal, simply because I did not have a plan to help me achieve the goal, secondly the goal was not realistic at the time because I had no business in mind to help me achieve this goal.

So what’s my goal for 2010? Actually, it’s the same as 2009, the only difference is that unlike the goal that I set in the previous year, I have decided to create mechanism, plans and events that would help me accomplish my goal.

I therefore implore everyone (including myself) in this New Year, that we should endeavor to CHOOSE A PATH and TAKE OUR CHANCES as they come.

Opportunities would come this year that would definitely boost you up in your arrears of specialization, However if you are not prepared, you might not see the opportunity talk more of ceasing it when it comes.

The goals that we have chosen to accomplish this year can be achieved by proper planning and goal setting.

As we plan and make attempt to accomplish the goals that we have set, we can only go far in accomplishing this goal if our thought pattern corresponds with that which we intend to achieve.

I will like to welcome everyone specially into this new year, and appreciate you all for keeping faith in this blog.

Join me in the next blog post as we talk EXTENSIVELY ON THIS.

Leave a Reply

